top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts

Travelling is the only thing you buy that makes you richer. SECOND POST OF MY STUDENTS!!! Speaking a

Summarising my InterRail experience...After several days of serious post-holiday blues I decided to book a flight back to Greece. Seasonal work is so easy to find on the islands and some friends we made travelling were looking for a third person to share their apartment. But whilst it seemed somewhat romantic to jump back on a plane and continue my Greek adventure long into the summer, I remembered that I have a second year of university to fund. Alas, I was stuck in England.When deciding whether to just up and jet-set across Europe, I met several times with the cliché "all good things must come to an end". Then I realised how to summarise this month-long adventure… it wasn't a holiday, it was a way of life.For 30 days Catrina and I were independent in strange lands, sleeping in dorms with strangers, swapping stories with fellow travellers and broadening our horizons. We saw seven countries, nine cities, and hundreds of train stations. We learnt the basics of a few foreign languages, tasted local cuisine, and sampled European night life. We survived the heat, lived on a budget, and navigated our way from Berlin down to Greece on our own. It was a way of life that didn’t have to come to an end. Thousands of people work abroad for the season, some leaving messages on answering machines back home to say they won’t be returning from their holiday quite as soon as planned.First stop, Berlin: a wise Scotsman told me that I would meet people like me on my travels. I was sceptical. And then we were asked the question asked to all travellers: where are you going next? I had never considered this before; this was my first big adventure. More surprisingly we had an answer - Asia! I had also planned a skiing trip, thought about a weekend on the continent later this summer, and decided to go on Erasmus with my University. The question which then seemed slightly presumptuous now seems perfectly reasonable. People who travel don't do it just once; it is a bug, one that you can't get rid of with copious amounts of insect repellent from Mountain Warehouse. I met people like me: people who want to see the world. And that was amazing.

Follow Me
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
Search By Tags
No hay etiquetas aún.
bottom of page